Photo: Marvin Gentry - USA TODAY Sports

2018 College Football Playoff is set

Alabama sneaks in without a conference title, 10-2 Ohio State on the outside looking in

December 03, 2017 - 1:37 pm

The 2018 College Football Playoff has been set, and the four teams in are Clemson, Oklahoma, Georgia and Alabama. 

On January 1st, top-ranked Clemson faces Alabama in the Sugar Bowl at the Mercedes-Benz Superdome in New Orleans, Louisiana. Later that day, second-ranked Oklahoma will take on Georgia in the Rose Bowl in Pasadena, California.

Alabama, ranked fifth before Wisconsin and Auburn lost in their championship games on Saturday, made the College Football Playoff despite not winning their conference. Ohio State, at 10-2, won the Big Ten title over previously unbeaten Wisconsin, however, having two losses kept the Buckeyes on the outside looking in of the playoff. 

Top-ranked Clemson won the ACC title over Miami, second-ranked Oklahoma took the Big 12 conference over TCU, while third-ranked Georgia won the SEC championship over Auburn. 

Comments ()