Amerks release 2019-2020 schedule

Rochester will look to rebound from a disappointing end to the 2018-19 season

Brayton Wilson
July 11, 2019 - 11:38 am

Photo: Micheline Michaelina - Rochester Americans

Categories: 

The Rochester Americans released their schedule for the 2019-2020 regular season on Wednesday.

The season opens at Blue Cross Arena on Friday, October 4 with a matchup against North Division rival Syracuse Crunch. After a week off, the Amerks will take their first road trip of the season, heading to New England for a three-game road trip against the Springfield Thunderbirds, Providence Bruins and Hartford Wolf Pack.

A majority of Rochester's home games this season at Blue Cross Arena will take place on Friday nights with 21 games this year in front of the hometown faithful. This includes five Friday home games in November, as well as four Friday home games in January.

Last season, the Amerks' season was prematurely cut short by the Toronto Marlies in the first round of the Calder Cup Playoffs. Both teams will match up for the first time in the 2019-2020 season on Friday, November 29 at Blue Cross Arena.

Overall, the Amerks and Marlies will meet six times this season, including an afternoon matchup on Tuesday, March 17 at Scotiabank Arena in Toronto, home of the Maple Leafs.

The team the Amerks will face the most this season is the Crunch, who will play Rochester 12 times throughout the course of the season.

The Amerks will head out on the road for two separate four-game road trips this season. The first four-game trip starts on Saturday, December 28 against the Utica Comets and ends against the Marlies on Saturday, January 4. The second four-game road trip comes in February when the Amerks will play the Marlies on Saturday, February 8, then head on the road to face the defending Calder Cup champion Charlotte Checkers for a two-game matchup on Tuesday, February 11 and Wednesday, February 12. Rochester closes out that trip with another road matchup against the Crunch on Saturday, February 15.

As for the team's longest homestand, the Amerks will host six consecutive games at Blue Cross Arena starting Sunday, February 16 and going through Friday, February 28. In that time frame, the Amerks will host the Comets twice, Belleville Senators, Lehigh Valley Phantoms, Cleveland Monsters and Laval Rocket.

Rochester's first matchups with the Checkers will come in December when the defending champions come to town on Friday, December 6 and Saturday, December 7.

The Amerks will close out the home portion of the schedule on Friday, April 10 against the Bridgeport Sound Tigers, while closing out the regular season the next night in Binghamton against the Devils.

Comments ()