Brady named NFL MVP at NFL Honors celebration

It is the third time in Tom Brady's career that he takes home the league's MVP honor

Brayton Wilson
February 05, 2018 - 10:54 am

Photo: Jerry Lai - USA TODAY Sports


For the third time in his illustrious NFL career, New England Patriots quarterback Tom Brady is the most valuable player of the National Football League.

Brady was named as the NFL's MVP on Saturday night at the NFL Honors ceremony on Saturday night in Minneapolis, Minnesota. It is the first time since 2010 when Brady was named as the league's MVP. His only other honor came in 2007 as part of the Patriots' undefeated regular season.

This season, Brady led the NFL in passing yards for the third time in his career, and threw the ball 581 times this season, more than any quarterback this season. Brady also finished third in the league with 32 touchdowns, while finishing with the fifth best completion percentage (66.3%).

Brady will play for his sixth Super Bowl title this Sunday when the Patriots face the Philadelphia Eagles on Sunday at U.S. Bank Stadium in Minneapolis.

The NFL also handed out a number of other awards on Saturday. Here is the list of winners:

AP Offensive Player of the Year: Todd Gurley - RB - Los Angeles Rams

AP Defensive Player of the Year: Aaron Donald - DT - Los Angeles Rams

AP Offensive Rookie of the Year: Alvin Kamara - RB - New Orleans Saints

AP Defensive Rookie of the Year: Marshon Lattimore - CB - New Orleans Saints

Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award: Luke Kuechly - LB - Carolina Panthers

AP Comeback Player of the Year: Keenan Allen - WR - Los Angeles Chargers

AP Coach of the Year: Sean McVay - Los Angeles Rams

AP Most Valuable Player: Tom Brady - QB - New England Patriots

Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year presented by Nationwide: J.J. Watt - DE - Houston Texans

Comments ()