Buffalo selected to host 2019 Frozen Four championship

For the first time since 2003, Buffalo will host college hockey's championship

Brayton Wilson
April 18, 2017 - 1:47 pm

Photo: Dennis Wierzbicki - USA TODAY Sports


College hockey's Frozen Four tournament is returning to Buffalo for the first time since 2003.

On Tuesday, NCAA Ice Hockey made the announcement on Twitter that the City of Buffalo and KeyBank Center will host the Division I Men's Ice Hockey Championship from April 11 through April 13, 2019.

Buffalo has been interested in hosting the tournament again for several years, and were to have reportedly landed the 2020 tournament leading up to Tuesday's announcement.

In 2003, the tournament featured Michigan, Cornell, New Hampshire, and Minnesota from the HSBC Arena. It was Thomas Vanek and Minnesota claiming the title in the championship game with a 5-1 win against New Hampshire.

The 2018 tournament will be hosted by City of St. Paul, Minnesota at the Xcel Energy Center.

The NCAA also announced the host cities for the Frozen Four championship in 2020, 2021, and 2022. Detroit, Michigan will host the 2020 tournament at the new Little Caesars Arena, followed by Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania in 2021 and Boston, Massachusetts in 2022.

Comments ()