Photo: Stephen R. Sylvanie - USA TODAY Sports

Current and former Sabres honored at 2019 NHL Awards

A look at the award winners from the NHL Awards in Las Vegas

June 19, 2019 - 11:40 pm

Both current and former members of the Buffalo Sabres received honors at the 2019 NHL Awards in Las Vegas Wednesday night.

Watch NHL games now on fuboTV.

Rookie defenseman Rasmus Dahlin finished as a top-three finalist for the Calder Trophy as the rookie of the year. It was Vancouver Canucks center Elias Pettersson who was voted as the Calder Trophy winner. However, Dahlin was selected to the NHL's All-Rookie team.

Dahllin becomes the eigth player in Sabres history to be selected after a 44-point season.   

A few familiar names also received recognition from the league, including Ryan O'Reilly and Robin Lehner.

Add the Frank J. Selke Trophy to O'Reilly's trophy case this season as he was honored as the NHL'sbest defensive forward. After getting traded from Buffalo to the St. Louis Blues last offseason, the veteran forward took home the Stanley Cup, the Conn Smythe Trophy, and now the Selke.

As for Lehner, the former Sabres goaltender was selected for two awards on Wednesday night, winning the William M. Jennings Trophy and the Bill Masteron Memorial Trophy.

The Masterton is given to the player who best exemplifies the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship, and dedication to hockey. Lehner was honored after reveiling last summer that he suffered with bipolar disease and addiction. He went on to have the second highest save percentage for starting goaltenders at .930.

Along with fellow Islanders goalie Thomas Greiss, Lehner also took home the Jennings Trophy which goes to the goaltender(s) who allow the fewest goals against on the season.

Here is a look at the other award winners from the night:


Hart Trophy: Nikita Kucherov - Tampa Bay Lightning

Vezina Trophy: Andrei Vasilevskiy - Tampa Bay Lightning

Lady Byng Trophy: Aleksander Barkov - Florida Panthers

Norris Trophy: Mark Giordano - Calgary Flames

Ted Lindsay Award: Nikita Kucherov - Tampa Bay Lightning

King Clancy Trophy: Jason Zucker - Minnesota Wild

Mark Messier NHL Leadership Award: Wayne Simmonds - Nashville Predators

Jack Adams Award: Barry Trotz - New York Islanders

General Manager of the Year: Don Sweeney - Boston Bruins

Willie O'Ree Community Hero Award: Rico Phillips

Comments ()