Foster out; Morse, Beasley return as Bills open minicamp

Mandatory minicamp started Tuesday at One Bills Drive

Sal Capaccio
June 11, 2019 - 3:23 pm

Photo: Timothy T. Ludwig - USA TODAY Sports

The Buffalo Bills began their three-day mandatory minicamp on Tuesday as the team sorted through even more injuries on offense.

Watch NFL games now on fuboTV.

Eight players sat out the first day due to injury:

  • WR - Robert Foster
  • WR - Zay Jones
  • TE - Jason Croom
  • TE - Tyler Kroft
  • OL - Ike Boettger
  • OL - Quinton Spain
  • OL - Jon Feliciano 
  • OL - Jeremiah Sirles 

Head coach Sean McDermott said Foster suffered a foot injury last week and, although they are still going through the evaluation process, he doesn’t believe it to be something long-term right now. He also, once again, said Kroft is most likely the only long-term injury of the group. The tight end suffered a broken foot on the first day of OTAs last month.

There was some good news on the injury front. Center Mitch Morse was a full participant for the first time this offseason. Both Morse and wide receiver Cole Beasley had surgery to correct core muscle injuries. Beasley also participated for the first time, but on a limited basis.

With all the injuries on the offensive line, there continued to be shuffling among the healthy players.

Here’s how the group looked during the first 11-on-11 session against the defense:

  • LT - Dion Dawkins
  • LG - De’Ondre Wesley/Vlad Ducasse
  • C - Mitch Morse
  • RG - Wyatt Teller
  • RT - Cody Ford

Spencer Long was the second-team center. LaAdrian Waddle, once agin, backed up Dawkins and Conor McDermott backed up Ford.

With Jones and Foster out, as well as Beasley not taking part in any offense vs. defense work, the wide receivers who seemed to get the most work were John Brown, Andre Roberts, Ray-Ray McCloud, Isaiah McKenzie, and Victor Bolden, Jr. However, David Sills, Da’Mari Scott, and Duke Williams all saw reps.

As opposed to the offense, the staring defense hasn’t changed at alliance the start of OTAs.

Here’s how it looked once again:

  • DE - Jerry Hughes, Trent Murphy
  • DT - Star Lotulelei, Jordan Phillips
  • WLB - Matt Milano
  • MLB - Tremaine Edmunds
  • SLB - Lorenzo Alexander
  • CB - Tre’Davious White, Levi Wallace
  • (Slot CB) - Taron Johnson
  • S - Micah Hyde, Jordan Poyer

The second-team saw a little rotation at a couple positions:

  • DE - Shaq Lawson, Eddie Yarbrough
  • DT - Ed Oliver, Harrison Phillips
  • WLB - Corey Thompson, Maurice Alexander
  • MLB - Julian Stanford
  • SLB - Deon Lacey
  • CB - Kevin Johnson, EJ Gaines, Denzel Rice
  • (Slot DB) - Siran Neal
  • S - Rafael Bush, Deane Marlowe, Jaquan Johnson

Follow me on Twitter @SalSports

Comments ()