France wins 2018 FIFA World Cup

The French win the World Cup for the second time, first since 1998

Brayton Wilson
July 15, 2018 - 2:01 pm

Photo: Tim Groothuis - Witters Sport via USA TODAY Sports


For the second time in the country's history, France has claimed the title at the FIFA World Cup.

France claimed the 2018 title on Sunday with a 4-2 win over Croatia in the tournament final in Moscow, Russia. It is the first time that France has won the World Cup since 1998, when they defeated Brazil on their home soil with current manager Didier Deschamps serving as team captain.

The scoring started at the 18th minute of action as Croatian striker Mario Mandžukić was credited with the first ever own goal in a World Cup Final. French striker Antoine Griezmann was a awarded a free kick on the Croatian net, and his set piece to the net goes off the head of Mandžukić and past goalkeeper, Danijel Subašić.

Croatia responded 10 minutes later as Ivan Perišić corralled a loose ball off a free kick, and let a big kick go off his left foot that found the back of the French net.

Another 10 minutes later, the French were awarded a penalty kick as Perišić was called for an unintentional hand ball in the box off of a corner kick. That gave Griezmann the chance to put the French back on top, and he netted an easy shot to the right of Subašić as he was diving to his left.

France took the 2-1 lead into halftime, but Croatia would come out in the second half and immediately put the pressure back on the French.

However, the crushing blow for Croatia ended up coming in the 59th minute as French midfielder Paul Pogba rocketed in a rebound chance past Subašić, who had no chance to get over and attempt a save to his right.

France extended its lead to 4-1 as 19-year-old Kylian Mbappé scores a goal from about 25-feet out to put the fans into a frenzy with about 25 minutes to play.

Croatia made things interesting with a goal from Mandžukić just four minutes later, but their flurry of attempts following the goal were not enough as France held on to the two-goal lead and win their first World Cup title in 20 years.

After the tournament, Croatia midfielder Luka Modrić was awarded the Golden Ball as the tournament's best player. England striker Harry Kane was awarded the Golden Boot as the tournament's leading goalscorer.

Comments ()