Hall takes home the Hart at the NHL Awards

Ryan O'Reilly finished second in voting for the Lady Byng Trophy

Brayton Wilson
June 21, 2018 - 10:18 am

Photo: Stephen R. Sylvanie - USA TODAY Sports

The best of the best from around the National Hockey League gathered in Las Vegas, Nevada on Wednesday night for the NHL Awards held at the Hard Rock Hotel and Casino. The league handed out 13 awards to recognize the top players of the 2017-18 season, and also honor some people around the NHL and the hockey community.

The night belonged to New Jersey Devils forward Taylor Hall as he brought home the Hart Trophy as the NHL's most valuable player.

Hall finished the 2017-18 season with a career-high 39 goals and 93 points in 76 games with the Devils. The 26-year-old finished the season sixth in league scoring, but held a 41-point difference between himself and the next-best scorer in New Jersey. Hall finished with the most first place votes (72) for the Hart, beating out Colorado Avalanche forward Nathan MacKinnon and Los Angeles Kings forward Anze Kopitar.

The Edmonton Oilers drafted Hall with the first overall selection in the 2010 NHL Draft, but traded him to New Jersey in the summer of 2016. Hall became the first player to win the Hart Trophy with a team that did not originally draft him since Joe Thornton did so with the San Jose Sharks in 2006.

It is the first time that Hall has been honored as the Hart Trophy recipient.

The Buffalo Sabres did have one player up for honors on Wednesday night as Ryan O'Reilly was up the Lady Byng Trophy as a player adjudged to have exhibited the best type of sportsmanship and gentlemanly conduct combined with a high standard of playing ability. However, it was Vegas Golden Knights forward William Karlsson winning that honor, while O'Reilly finished second in voting.

O'Reilly has won the Lady Byng before, winning the award as a member of the Colorado Avalanche after the 2013-14 season.

Along with Karlsson, three other Golden Knights were honored after an incredible inaugural season in Vegas. Defenseman Deryk Engelland was honored with the Mark Messier Leadership Award, which recognizes an individual as a superior leader within their sport, and as a contributing member of society Gerard Gallant was awarded the Jack Adams Trophy as the coach of the year, while George McPhee was named as the NHL General Manager of the Year.

Here is the complete list of winners from the NHL Awards:

  • Ted Lindsay Award - Connor McDavid (Edmonton Oilers)
  • Norris Trophy - Victor Hedman - (Tampa Bay Lightning)
  • King Clancy Trophy - Daniel Sedin and Henrik Sedin (Vancouver Canucks)
  • Calder Trophy - Mathew Barzal (New York Islanders)
  • Lady Byng Trophy - William Karlsson (Vegas Golden Knights)
  • Masterton Award - Brian Boyle (New Jersey Devils)
  • Selke Trophy - Anze Kopitar (Los Angeles Kings)
  • Jack Adams Award - Gerard Gallant (Vegas Golden Knights)
  • Messier Leadership Award - Deryk Engelland (Vegas Golden Knights
  • Vezina Trophy - Pekka Rinne (Nashville Predators)
  • General Manager of the Year - George McPhee (Vegas Golden Knights)
  • Willie O'Ree Community Hero Award - Darcy Haugan (Humboldt Broncos coach)
  • Hart Trophy - Taylor Hall (New Jersey Devils)
Comments ()