The NHL off-season has begun

The first order of business is the buyout period

Paul Hamilton
June 08, 2018 - 2:35 pm

Photo: Brad Penner - USA TODAY Sports

Buffalo, NY (WGR 550) - With the Stanley Cup playoffs over, the NHL off-season has officially begun. The first date teams need to worry about is June 15 at 12:01 a.m. That’s when the NHL buyout period opens. That runs through June 30 at 5 p.m.

If you’re thinking buyouts, the first player that would come to mind is Zach Bogosian. Using figures provided by Cap Friendly, the often injured defenseman has two more seasons left at a cap hit of $5,142,587. If Buffalo buys him out, they would have to pay him $2 million per season for four years. In the first two seasons, the cap hit would be $1,142,857 per season, while the final two years would cost $2 million per year.

Matt Moulson’s buyout would mean he would get paid for two years at $666,667 per season. Instead of a $5 million cap hit, the first season would be $3,666,667 and the second year would be $667,667.

Jason Pominville has one more year at a cap hit of $5.6 million. A buyout would mean Buffalo would twice write him a check for $1,666,667. His cap hit the first season would be $2,266,667 and $1,666,667 the second year.

Johan Larsson would hardly cost anything to buy out. He has a cap hit of $1.475 million for one more season. He would take home $258,333 the first season and the second. The cap hit would only be $183,333 and $258,333.

Zemgus Girgensons is also a next to nothing buy out with a $1.6 million cap hit for one more season. He would take home $266,667 for two straight seasons and cost Buffalo a cap hit of $266,667 during both seasons.

Nate Beaulieu’s cap hit for one more season is $2.4 million. He would walk away getting paid for two more seasons at $416,667 per year. His buyout would cost the Sabres just $316,667 and $416,667.

Starting on June 24, teams can start talking to unrestricted free agents, but can’t sign them until July 1 at 12 p.m.

Teams have until June 25 at 5 p.m. to make qualifying offers to restricted free agents. For the Sabres, that covers Robin Lehner, Sam Reinhart, Scott Wilson, Victor Antipin, C.J. Smith, Danny O’Regan, Sean Malone, Jason Kasdorf, Hudson Fasching, Nick Baptiste and Justin Bailey. Qualifying offers expire on July 15 at 5 p.m.

Comments ()