O’Reilly in on the mid-season NHL Awards

Voting is done by writers, broadcasters and fans

Paul Hamilton
January 26, 2018 - 12:42 pm

Photo: Bob Frid - USA TODAY Sports


(WGR 550) - The Professional Hockey Writers’ Association has come out with mid-season NHL awards and there is one Sabres player mentioned.

Ryan O’Reilly, right now, would be third in the Lady Byng race behind Auston Matthews of the Leafs and Johnny Gaudreau of the Flames.

The Hart Trophy for league MVP would go to Tampa Bay’s Nikita Kucherov. The Lightning winger leads the league in scoring with 27 goals and 36 assists for 63 points. Nate MacKinnon from Colorado and John Tavares of the Islanders are second and third. Last year’s winner was Connor McDavid.

Tampa Bay’s Victor Hedman is currently injured, but he leads the voting for the Norris Trophy. Drew Doughty of the Kings is second followed by John Klingberg of the Stars. Klingberg has 48 assists in 50 games this season.

Gerard Gallant from Vegas would win the Jack Adams award for coach of the year over Jon Cooper of the Lightning and Paul Maurice of the Jets.

This season starts the Rod Langway award for the best defensive defenseman and Doughty would win that.

These results came from writers, broadcasters and 2,000 fan ballots.

The NHL as well as Jack Eichel are converging on Tampa for the NHL All-Star weekend. The Sabres won’t practice again until Monday afternoon just before 2:00.

Comments ()