Photo: John David Mercer - USA TODAY Sports

Owens named as part of 2018 Hall of Fame class

Former Bills wide receiver Terrell Owens is one of eight new members of the Pro Football Hall of Fame

February 04, 2018 - 8:28 am

Mike Jafari reporting

Former Buffalo Bills wide receiver Terrell Owens will be enshrined into this year’s Pro Football Hall of Fame class, joining the likes of safety Brian Dawkins, wide receiver Randy Moss, and linebackers Brian Urlacher and Ray Lewis.

Dawkins and Owens got the call in their second year of eligibility, while Moss, Urlacher and Lewis got voted in on the first try. Longtime personnel executive Bobby Beathard (contributor) and seniors committee nominees Jerry Kramer and Robert Brazile will also be enshrined.

Owens' lone season with the Bills was in 2009, where he caught 55 balls for 829 yards and five touchdowns before joining the Cincinnati Bengals the following year. Owens played for 15 seasons with his biggest success coming with the San Francisco 49ers, Philadelphia Eagles and Dallas Cowboys. In 219 career games, Owens notched 1,078 catches for 15,934 yards and 153 touchdowns.

Moss also had an impressive career with 982 catches, 15,292 yards and 156 touchdowns in his 14 seasons with the Minnesota Vikings, Oakland Raiders, New England Patriots, Tennessee Titans and 49ers.

Lewis played 17 seasons in the NFL, all with the Baltimore Ravens. During that span, Lewis won two Super Bowls and was named the MVP of Super Bowl XXXV. Lewis goes into the Hall of Fame with 2,061 career tackles, 41.5 sacks and 31 interceptions.

Like Lewis, Urlacher spent his entire career with one team. In 13 seasons with the Chicago Bears, Urlacher racked up 1,353 tackles, 41.5 sacks and 22 interceptions.

Dawkins played for 16 seasons in the NFL, 13 of them with the Eagles and three with the Denver Broncos. Dawkins was considered one of the best defensive backs in his era, piling up 778 tackles, 26 sacks, 37 interceptions and 36 forced fumbles.

The Pro Football Hall of Fame enshrinement festivities take place this year August 2-5 in Canton, Ohio.

Comments ()