O'Reilly and Canada take the Silver at the World Championship

Sweden wins gold in a shootout

Paul Hamilton
May 21, 2017 - 6:33 pm

(WGR 550) - What a great championship game between Canada and Sweden at the World Championships, but unfortunately it was ruined by being decided in a shootout. Henrik Lundqvist of the Rangers stopped all four shots he faced in the shootout to give Sweden a 2-1 victory.

The Sabres' Ryan O’Reilly had Canada’s only goal and hit the post in the shootout. From start to finish, O’Reilly was Canada’s best player. He was that team’s player of the game three different times and finished the tournament with six goals and three assists for nine points in 10 games. In Sunday’s game, he played 26:24 and had five shots on goal.

O’Reilly’s goal tied the game just 58-seconds into the third period. Sweden’s only goal came shorthanded when Tampa Bay’s Victor Hedman skipped one past Colorado’s Calvin Pickard.

In the past three World Championships, O'Reilly has won two gold medals and a silver.

In 80 minutes of play, Pickard made 40 saves. In the shootout, he gave up two goals on four shots. Pickard made many key saves in overtime. In the tournament he went 5-2 with a 1.49 goals against and .938 save percentage.

Lundqvist made 42 saves on the game. Lundqvist only played in four games because of the Rangers playoff series with Ottawa. The netminder went 4-0 with a 1.31 goals against and .946 save percentage.

Team Russia beat Finland 5-3 to take the bronze. Viktor Antipin played 18:32. He had one assist and one shot. On the tournament he had no goals and four assists.

KHL insider Aivis Kalnins tweeted that he's hearing that Antipin is set to sign with the Sabres and that the Russian defenseman told "Sport-Express" that he is arriving in Buffalo next week.

The All-Tournament Team:


Andrei Vasilevskiy - Russia (T.B.)


Colton Parayko - Canada (St. L.)

Dennis Seidenberg - Germany (N.Y.I.)


Will Nylander - Sweden (Tor.)

Artemi Panarin - Russia (Chi.)

Nate MacKinnon - Canada (Col.)

Tournament Top Players:

Goalie - Andrei Vasilevskiy

Defense - Dennis Seidenberg

Forward - Artemi Panarin

Tournment MVP: Will Nylander

Comments ()